Another Milestone

This past week, I completed my first 5-day full-time work week since the summer of 2014. Since the beginning of January I had slowly ramped up from a very gentle two 1/2 days in the first week of 2017 until reaching full-time during the week of Feb 20-24.

All in all, I am pleased with my stamina and ability to work a full-time job. On the other hand, I am going to have to learn how to organize my life a little bit differently. I don’t have a full day to accomplish household tasks anymore. As I write this, it sounds like I’m whining about something that people deal with all the time, but for me, it’s been a while. I’ll just chalk it up to re-adjusting to “normal life.”

This weekend marks another transition point as well. Except for a brief interlude at a retail bank branch, since May 2005 I have been employed at the London, Ontario contact centre for a US discount brokerage, known for most of that time as TD Ameritrade. Effective tomorrow, I will begin to study to become licensed under Canadian investment industry regulations as our local TD Ameritrade centre transitions to TD Direct Investing. Don’t worry, this is not an advertisement inviting you to contact me for investment advice. That’s not our role. I will be called an “Investment Representative,” not an “Investment Advisor.” However, if you happen to have an account with us, maybe some day in the not too distant future (beginning around the end of April) I will have a chance to speak with you over the phone. In the meantime, I guess I’ll see how much the recovery of good health and stamina extends to the intellectual level. Updates to come.

Leave a Reply

