The 2015 Kidney Walk is History

Thanks once again for all your support. The London, Ontario edition of the 2015 Kidney Walk fundraiser for the Kidney Foundation of Canada is now history. Having never been to any other kidney support types of events, it was a rather sobering experience to see all the people come out for the walk, all wearing signs that said, “I’m walking for…” someone they knew with kidney disease or for themselves personally.

The Kidney Walkers

The Kidney Walkers

A highlight was to hear a brief presentation from a woman who had received a transplant a mere 13 weeks earlier, followed by a tearful speech from the woman who actually donated the kidney. It was great to see them both looking so healthy.

A sobering image that will stick with me was the quilted images of those who had donated organs as a result of life-ending incident, The Gift of Life Donors.

The Gift of Life Donors

The Gift of Life Donors

Another special highlight for me was that my wife, Etsuko, and two of my children, Rika and Aisha, were able to accompany me on the walk, wearing signs that said, respectively, “I’m walking for my husband,” and “I’m walking for my dad.” I’ll admit to feeling a bit weepy when I see this photo.

IMG_1143

Left to right: daughter Rika, wife Etsuko, daughter Aisha

When I announced that I was going to go on this fundraising walk, and invited sponsoring donations, I hoped for a total of only three hundred dollars, of which I was going to contribute one hundred dollars. Much to my surprise and delight, I was the top individual fundraiser, bringing in a total of $1,915 by the morning of the walk, and actually, $2,065 by the end of the day. As I posted elsewhere, this says less about me as a fundraiser and much more about the kind and generous friends who are supporting me. I am grateful.

Me, with my wife, Etsuko, by my side. The lime green shirt was because I had raised in excess of a $1,000.

Me, with my wife, Etsuko, by my side. The lime green shirt was because I had raised in excess of a $1,000.

Thank you.

Leave a Reply

