Grateful for Incredible Friends…and So Much More

At the beginning of this year, a friend of mine in British Columbia (BC) offered to be a living donor of a kidney to me. As it turned out, his blood type was not compatible with mine (I’m Type O) so we both entered the Living Donor Paired Exchange (LDPE) program. The first run in June did not yield a match. The next run of the program will be in October.

To my great surprise and joy, recently another friend from BC contacted me after hearing about my situation and offered to be a living donor as well. He also is not compatible, but his entry into the LDPE program on my behalf certainly wouldn’t hurt, and might actually help with finding a matching donor.

This morning in church, I heard a sermon about gratefulness in the Psalms, based on the recurring theme of chesed (khesed or hesed), God’s loving-kindness. While I suppose I could choose to lament my circumstances (and there are psalms of lament as well), for me gratitude overwhelms lament. Yes, I have this nasty disease which has caused a significant disruption to my life, but there are all kinds of things for which I’m grateful. I don’t cry out to God, “Why did you let this happen to me?!” Instead, I’m grateful that my health held up much longer than originally anticipated (30 years before I started dialysis, rather than 10-15), I happened to have a job that allowed me to go on disability for very nearly the same amount of income as when I was working, I have this incredible health care system in which the staff really do seem to care, I have a device and materials supplied at no charge to me which keeps my health at a pretty good level, all things considered, and I have friends willing to donate a kidney on my behalf. I also have friends and family who ask about me, who pray for me, and who keep me in their thoughts. When I think about these things, I realize that I am rich beyond my imaginings.

Thank you for your support.

Leave a Reply

