A Day Off

Well, this is just about the best news I’ve had since I started dialysis. A nurse at the Peritoneal Dialysis (PD) Unit called to tell me that I can have a day off from nightly dialysis once every two weeks. The results of the most recent tests confirmed that, between the dialysis and the residual function of my kidneys, enough waste is being removed from my blood that I can have this privilege. The nurse told me that she and the other nurses argued for giving me a day off every week, but the nephrologists said, “Not yet.”

I am grateful that I have available to me this medical technique known as PD. My health is being preserved. But, PD is a burden, as are all forms of dialysis, so this is truly great news. The only thing better will be the day that I get a call telling me that there is a donor kidney for me.

Notice that the frog does not have a catheter coming out of his belly and connected to a machine.

Notice that the frog does not have a catheter coming out of his belly connected to a machine. The good life.

2 thoughts on “A Day Off

Leave a Reply

